Hiring.me @ Greenhouse.io: Getting Candid About the Candidate Experience

The first human footprints on the moon. Designing the iPhone. Mapping the human genome.

At first glance, these achievements appear to share little in common.

Another look reveals that every project, every mission, every goal…share one critical requirement.

Achieving it took people. The right people. Committed people.

Achieving it took a diverse group with intuition, vigilance, and intellectual agility, unified by one idea. It took individuals eager to nurture a vision and faithfully contribute toward an intermittently nebulous outcome.

In a world that we’re frequently reminded boasts an astronomical divorce rate, with fewer and fewer millennials buying cars and taking on home mortgages (to say nothing of horrifying student loan obligations), the covenant between employee and employer might end up the longest standing and most demanding commitment a person makes during their lifetime.

Greenhouse decided to make hiring its mission. The innovative and intelligent software makes identifying, vetting, interviewing, and hiring the best talent quick, painless, and effective.

Before I ever saw the company in person, I could tell they knew what they were doing. My experience passing through the hiring process proved the best of my young career by a measure of between three and forty. At every step, I felt as though I had a good idea about where I stood. The communication was professional and consistent.

To begin with, I somehow managed to pass the obligatory “make-sure-this-person-speaks-English-and-is-not-a-psychopath” five minute phone call screening, prompting them to set me up with phase two: the thirty minute phone interview.

Maybe I’m in the minority here, but I do not typically spend half an hour on the phone with anyone… unless of course I need customer support from Time Warner Cable. The thought of spending thirty minutes on a phone call with a potential employer initially struck me as intimidating, but thanks to the clear structure of the call and the demeanor of the interviewer, I found it breezed by as we were able to engage in a good discussion and work through a few thought exercises. In as much time as it takes to watch an episode of It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia (with commercials) I passed through to round three: a take-home research and writing assignment.

Riding the jet stream of confidence created by the success of the phone interview, I knocked out the research and writing assignment within thirty-six hours…earning me a call from the Procrastinators Society of America, threatening to indefinitely suspend my membership; Predictably, they ultimately balked.

Following my research and writing assignment, I moved on to the championship round, the in-person interview… or, as it was titled in the Google Calendar invite I received, “meet the team”.

*Queue Rocky style training montage*

The face-to-face interview, allotted two hours, turned out to be a truly enjoyable experience.

I met with a handful of different employees, all of whom seemed to embody a seamless combination of serious and personable.

The process was clearly well organized; they were prepared for me. They had all the necessary information on hand, digitally: my resume, my writing assignment, and the history of correspondence between us. During the interview the lines of questioning, instead of generic, random, or overly complicated, were deliberate and purposeful.

More than just a rote search for technical skills, the interviewers, using rapport as excavating tools, dug for answers to determine if I could place myself within a rapidly growing movement with its heart and mind set on greatness…to see not just if I could work for the organization, but if I would work within it, adding to the momentum of the team and adding to the overall experience for all the employees.

What I mentioned before as easily the most positive interviewing experience of my life led to a position within a company with a borderline unassailable corporate culture, where every employee fits and contributes, and maybe just as importantly, everyone is borderline evangelical about the product, the mission, and the environment we work in.


And the people we work with. Must not forget about the people.

Leave a Reply

